Wednesday, May 09, 2007

Four CFA players invited for U-16 national camp

CHANDIGARH: Four trainees of the Chandigarh Football Academy are among the 33 probables selected by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) for national coaching camp for Under-16 to be held at Muragao (Goa) fromMay 15 to June 15.

This information has been received by the Chandigarh Sports Department which manages the Chandigarh Football Academy, from the AIFF through Chandigarh Football Association secretary Rakesh Bakshi. Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (goalkeeper), Arshpreet Singh (defender), Bikramjit Singh (midfielder) and Harpreet Bedi (midfielder) are the four players of the CFA invited to the camp.

Nine campers hail from Bengal, six from Mizoram, two each from Maharashtra, Sikkim, Jharkhand, and Karnataka. One each is from Delhi, Uttranchal, Manipur, Tamil Nadu and Gujarat.

According to Joint Director Sports JPS Sidhu, the selected players have been directed to report at the coaching camp alongwith their original date of birth certificates, original passport and playing kit. The AIFF will pay the TA/DA to campers.

Those invited to the camp are:Goalkeepers: Harshad Meher (Maharashtra), Shayan Roy (Bengal), R Lalthuamawia (Mizoram) and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Chandigarh).

Defenders: Raman Ray (Sikkim), Jagdish S Kasnayal (Uttranchal), Ajith Bhoir (Mah), Deepak Devrani (Delhi), F Lalrozama (Mizoram), Arashpreet Singh (Chandigarh), Asis Chhetri (Sikkim), Arshad Shah, Arijit Basak, Tonmoy Ghosh (all Bengal) and Vishal Kumar (Karnataka).

Midfielders: Subhojit Majumdar (Jharkhand), Sanju Kumar (Karnataka), Bijen Rai (Sikkim), David Lal Rimuana (Mizoram), Bikramjit Singh (Chandigarh), Tirthankar Sarkar (Bengal), Milan Singh (Jharkhand), Harpreet Bedi (Chandigarh), Akshay Mall (Gujarat), NG Beirona (Bengal), R Lalrin Dika (Bengal) and R Malsamtulunga (Mirozram).

Forwards: Malaswamfela (Mizoram), A Tomba Singh (Mizoram), Mithun Saha (Bengal), L Prem Kumar (Bengal), Rabi Chandra Singh (Manipur) and A Raegan (Tamil Nadu).