Writings of Sikkim since 2007

Sunday, January 27, 2008

Bhaichung Bhutia selected for the Padma Shri award 2008

Son of Sikkim and India football captain Bhaichung Bhutia have been selected for for the Padma Shri award this year, in recognition of his distinguished career and service to the game in the country.
Bhutia, who was honoured with the Arjuna Award in 1998, will become the fifth Indian footballer after Gostho Behari Paul (1962), Sailen Manna (1971), Chuni Goswami (1983) and PK Banerjee (1990) to receive the prestigious civilian award.
He will become the fifth Sikkimes after Sonam Gyathco, Deny Denzongpa, Sanu Lama and Karma Sonam Lepcha to receive the prestigious civilian award.
External affairs minister Pranab Mukherjee, renowned playback singer Asha Bhonsle, cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar, DMRC chief E. Sreedharan and noted industrialist Ratan Naval Tata are among 13 eminent persons who have been selected for Padma Vibhushan this year.
Former Chief Justice of India A. S. Anand, NRI businessman Lakshmi Narayan Mittal, hotelier P. R. S Oberoi, former diplomat P. N. Dhar, environmentalist Rajendra Kumar Pachauri, chess Grandmaster Vishwanathan Anand and Infosys founder N. R. Narayana Murthy have also been selected for Padma Vibhushan. Mountaineer Edmund Hillary has been selected for the award posthumously.
Astronaut Sunita Williams, Lord Meghnad Desai, former director general of the Indian Council of Medical Research Prof N. K. Ganguly, singer Ustad Rahim Fahimuddin Dagar, Prof Brijnder Nath Goswamy, Prof T. K. Oommen, Dr Jagjit Singh Chopra, Mian Bashir Ahmed, Prof Kaushik Basu and Dr Inderjit Kaur are among the 35 persons selected for the Padma Bhushan award.
Film star Madhuri Dixit, film director Manoj Night Shyamalam, singer Hans Raj Hans, Prof Amitabh Mattoo, Mohammad Yousuf Taing, Dr Kshama Metre, Prof Sukhdeo Thorat, and television journalists Barkha Dutt, Rajdeep Sardesai and Vinod Dua are among the 71 persons chosen for the Padma Shri Awards.

Padma Vibhushan:
Asha Bhosle (art), Justice A. S. Anand (public affairs), P. N. Dhar (public affairs), Pranab Mukherjee (public affairs), E. Sreedharan (science and engineering), Rajendra Kumar Pachauri (science and engineering), Edmund Hillary (posthumous) (sports), Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar (sports), Viswanathan Anand (sports), Lakshmi Narayan Mittal (trade and industry), N.R. Narayana Murthy (trade and industry), P.R.S. Oberoi (trade and industry) and Ratan Naval Tata (trade and industry).

Padma Bhushan:
Amarnath Sehgal (posthumous) (art), Ustad Asad Ali Khan (art), P. Susheela (art), Ustad Rahim Fahimuddin Dagar (art), Sushil Kumar Saxena (art), Chandrashekhar Dasgupta (civil service), K. Padmanabhiah (civil service), V. Ramachandran (civil service), Jasdev Singh (commentary and broadcasting), Prof Brijinder Nath Goswamy (literature and education), Prof Ji Xianlin (literature and education), Prof Kaushik Basu (literature and education), Prof Padma Desai (literature and education), Ravindra Kelekar (literature and education), Dr Shayama Chona (literature and education), Shri Lal Shukla (literature and education), Dr Srinivasa S R Varadhan (literature and education), Prof T. K. Oommen (literature and education), Dr Jagjit Singh Chopra (medicine), Prof Nirmal Kumar Ganguly (medicine), Mian Bashir Ahmed (public affairs), Lord Meghnad Desai (public affairs).
Y. M.Vorontsov (posthumous) (public affairs), Prof Asis Datta (science and engineering), Prof Sukh Dev (science and engineering), Sunita Williams (science and engineering), Dr Vasant Gowarikar (science and engineering), D. R. Mehta (social work), Dominique Lapierre (social work), Dr Inderjit Kaur (social work), Suresh Kumar Neotia (trade and industry), Baba Neelkanth Kalyani (trade and industry), K. V. Kamath (trade and industry), Shiv Nadar (trade and industry) and Vikram Pandit (trade and industry).

Padma Shri:
Gangadhar Pradhan (art), Gennadi Mikhailovich Pechinkov (art), Pandit Gokulotsavji Maharaj (art), Hans Raj Hans (art), Dr Helen Giri (art), Jatin Goswami (art), Jawahar Wattal (art), John Martin Nelson (art), Jonnalagadda Gurappa Chetty (art), Kekoo M. Gandhy (art); Madhuri Dixit (art), Mangala Prasad Mohanty (art), Manoj Night Shyamalan (art), Meenakshi Chitharanjan (art), Moozhikkulam Kochukuttan Chakyar (art), P. K. Narayanan Nambiar (art), Pratap Pawar (art), Sabitri Heisnam (art), Sentila T. Yanger (art), Dr Sirkazhi G. Sivachidambaram (art), Tom Alter (art), Yella Venkateswara Rao (art).
Barkha Dutt (journalism), Rajdeep Dilip Sardesai (journalism), Vinod Dua (journalism), Prof Amitabh Mattoo (literature and education), B Sivanthi Adithan (literature and education), Bholabhai Patel (literature and education), Dr Bina Agarwal (literature and education), Prof K. S. Nisar Ahmed (literature and education), Dr M. Leelavathy (literature and education), Dr Nirupam Bajpai (literature and education), Dr Srinivas Udgata (literature and education), Prof Sukhadeo Thorat (literature and education), Surjya Kanta Hazarika (literature and education), Dr Vellayani Arjunan (literature and education), Mohammad Yousuf Taing (literature and education).
Haji Kaleemullah Khan (mango plantation and grafting), Dr A. Jayanta Kumar Singh (medicine), Prof Arjunan Rajasekaran (medicine), Prof C. U. Velmurugendran (medicine), Dr Deepak Sehgal (Medicine), Dr Dinesh K. Bhargava (medicine), Dr Indu Bhushan Sinha (medicine), Dr Keiki R. Mehta (medicine), Dr Malvika Sabharwal (medicine), Dr Mohan Chandra Pant (medicine), Dr Rakesh Kumar Jain (medicine), Dr Raman Kapur (medicine), Dr Randhir Sud (medicine), Dr Shyam Narayan Arya (medicine), Prof Surendra Singh Yadav (medicine), Dr Tatyarao Pundlikrao Lahane (medicine), Dr Tony Fernandez (medicine).
Colette Mathur (public affairs), Bhavarlal Hiralal Jain (science and engineering), Dr Joseph H. Hulse (science and engineering), Prof Kasturi Lal Chopra (science and engineering), Dr Sant Singh Virmani (science and engineering), Kailash Chandra Agrawal (social work), Sister Karuna Mary Braganza (social work) Dr Kshama Metre (social work), Dr Kutikuppala Surya Rao (social work), Madan Mohan Sabharwal (social work), Dr Sheela Barthakur (social work), V. R. Gowrishankar (social work), Vikramjit Singh Sahney (social work), Yousaf Ali Musaliamveettil Abdul Kader (social work).
Baichung Bhutia (sports), Bula Chowdhury Chakraborty (sports) and Amit Mitra (trade and industry).


Powered by Blogger.

Google+ Followers

Blog Archive

Visitor since January 21, 2012 free counters
Free counters

Search This Blog

Breaking News




SIKKIM- 737134

Custom Search


Social Icons

PageNavi Results No.

Label Icons CSS


Blog Archive

Unordered List

When i started my blog on Sikkim way back in 2007, i had it clear on my mind that this blog shall help people look out for knowledge on Sikkim. I always wanted a knowledge house about Sikkim, its past, present and future. I do not know over the years how much did i succeed but my determination to let other understand my Sikkim is always giving me a push. with regards Shital Pradhan (himalayanreview@gmail.com)


Theme Support

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...