Tuesday, February 19, 2008

British Asian Sports Awards winners; PRASHANT ENTERTAINS THE CROWDS

British Asian Sports Awards winners

Amir Khan and Mark Ramprakash were among the British sporting talent recognised on Saturday night at the British Asian Sports Awards (BASA).

This year, BASA played host to a variety of sporting stars and celebrities which took place at the Park Lane Hilton, London.

The award categories acknowledged a variety of sporting fields and abilities.

Among the winners on the night were footballer Ajmal Maqsood Ahmed and wrestler Jatinder Singh Rakhra.

Jatinder has been 8 times British Champion. He is representing GB 2008 Senior Olympic qualifiers for Beijing and is also an Olympic hopeful team for 2012 and Commonwealth Games 2010.

The International Sports Personality Of The Year award went to chess player Vishwanathan Anand.

Azeem Rafiq of Yorkshire picked up the Junior Sports Personality Of The Year (male).

Azeem is the youngest player ever to be on the ECB. He has also been 12th man for Yorkshire CCC. He is believed to be the first Yorkshire player of Asian background to captain an England side at any level.

The Junior Sports Personality Of The Year (female) went to Nischele Patel.

Nischele represents Great Britain and is seeded number 3 in the UK. In the British National Championships in 2007, Nischele gained a bronze.

The Young Sports Personality Of The Year 2007 U10 award went to Maira Malik.

Maira is a schoolgirl who has achieved her Red Belt and Junior Black Belt, and has been chosen to be in the demonstration team for her martial arts club in Liverpool.

Amir Khan picked up the Sports personality of the year award.

The Lifetime Achievement award went to Vikash Dhorasoo. The Ex French mid-fielder, who is the only Asian to have played in a football World Cup final.

BASA founder, Rajan Singh said: "BASA is now in its 7th year and is continuing to go from strength to strength. You only have to look at the sheer calibre of this year's winners to see the wealth of Asian sporting talent this country has to offer.

"Tonight was a great success and having guests such as Gerry Sutcliffe MP, Minister for Sport, here certainly highlights the depth of support BASA is generating."

Entertainment was provided by guest artists including: Sisqo, Chaka Demus & Pliers, Indian Idol winner, Prashant Tamang and Sabrina - ex singer from R&B group Mis-Teeq.

The full awards ceremony will be broadcast on Sony Entertainment Television Asia on March 2nd 2008 at 8pm.