Tuesday, December 31, 2013

SAAB comes up with musical charity

Members of Singtam Aaadarsh Associated Boys
SINGTAM, DECEMBER 31:  Popular Rock band ‘Mantra’ from Darjeeling along with celebrity performers from Sikkim is all set to blaze the stage of Singtam on January 3. The program organized by Singtam Aaadarsh Associated Boys is free to all and will be held at Golitar Ground.

The program organizer had informed that some amount of fund collected from the program shall be donated to Orphanages as well as to the Old Age Home of the state.  Shri Ugyen T Gyatso Bhutia, Government Chief Whip and MLA Tumin-Lingee, Shri Am Prasad Sharma, Area MLA cum Parliamentary Secretary, Land Revenue and Disaster Management Department and Shri BS Pant, MLA, Temi-Namphing will grace the occasion as Chief Guest and Special Guests, read the press release.

The celebrity artistes that will perform on the stage include Mantra Band with their popular nepali number ‘Gorkhali Ko choro mah’ (their first program at Singtam), Gangaa Mukhia, Geeta Sharma, Robin Mukhia (Sikkim Civilian Awardees 2013), Bijay Tamang, Prakash Sundas, Nirmal Tamang (Sargam Sikkim Finalists), Gagan Diyali, dancers from New Heaven Dance Academy and others. The theme behind the event is “Music for love, pace and communal harmony”. The release further says that the organizer would like to thank each individual who had made the financial support and provided strength in organizing the event.

Thursday, December 19, 2013


Basibiyalo congratulates Praveen Pradhan

SINGTAM, DECEMBER 19:  Singtam Basibiyalo and Singtam Newar Kalyan Sangathan had jointly congratulated Praveen Pradhan, Managing Director Badhaichha Creation, Singtam for being felicitated by the Sikkim State Aids Control Society at MG Marg, Gangtok. Praveen Pradhan, President RRC Badhaichha Creation, Singtam was felicitated for his outstanding contribution towards HIV/AIDS awareness camapign on the inaugural day of the two day long Red Ribbon Carnival 2013.

Praveen Pradhan had thanked the officials of Sikkim State Aids Control Society for giving him an opportunity to work for better society. Praveen Pradhan had been actively involved in the HIV/AIDS awareness campaign since last few years. Pradhan had so far performed 18 voluntary blood donations and had completed 84 schools during the recent Youth Intervention under Multi Media Campaign 2013-14 for the schools at East District. RRC Badhaichha Creation was the host of the campaign at East District. Singtam Newar Kalyan Sangathan also has praised Praveen Pradhan’s achievement.

Mohan Pradhan ‘Neeraj’, Sansthapak Singtam Basibiyalo who was also present on the occasion told that it was an honour for Praveen Pradhan to have received the award in presence of the Governor of Sikkim and Chief Minister of Sikkim and other dignitaries. Mohan Pradhan thanked Sikkim State Aids Control Society for appreciating the sincerity and hard work of Praveen Pradhan.

Friday, December 13, 2013

Chogyal Palden Thondup Namgyal and Gyalmo Hope Cooke (pic)

It has been after few months, i found the photograph of Chogyal Palden Thondup Namgyal and Gyalmo Hope Cooke in the the web. So sharing for my readers...indeed a perfect match altogether.

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Dalapchand offered an emotional farewell to its teachers

SINGTAM, DECEMBER 11: Dalapchand SS bid an emotional farewell to its four teachers at its school premises in a colourful cultural programme. Those teachers included Mrs CK Yonzon, TL Gyatso, Shital Pradhan and Ranjit Rai. The four teachers included two female retired teachers who had served the school for more than a decade and two male teachers who had their staying at the school for two years and one year respectively.
Present on the occasion were ST Bhutia, Headmaster of the school and his staff and students, members of Panchayat, SMC members, guardians and others. On the occasion, the retired teachers were also felicitated for their dedication and sincerity in their performance as a school teacher. The outgoing teachers were offered khadas and gifts.
ST Bhutia, Headmaster of the school appreciated and thanked the guest teachers for their efforts in the all round development of the students as well as of the school during their stay. Bhutia spoked about the individual achievement of the teachers. CD Rai, TN Poudhyal, Prakash Poudhyal, BB Rai, PK Rai, Panchayat President, representative from SMC also spoked on the occasion.
The outgoing teachers too spoked on the occasion and thanked every staff and students for their cooperation and support in making a school a better. Each of them echoed that they had enjoyed their staying at Dalapchand SS and extended to help the school in any requirement in days to come too.

Ralap Secondary School celebrates Annual Day

SINGTAM, DECEMBER 11: Ralap SS, upgraded to Secondary School this year observed an annual day programme for the very first time in their 37 year of its establishments at its school premises on December 10.  The highlight of the day long programme was colourful cultural and sports events followed by prize distribution of academic achievements and Inter House events.
Shri Am Prasad Sharma, Parliamentary Affair and Area MLA were the Chief Guest of the day. Other distinguished guests included KP Pandey (Former Headmaster), Principal (Makha SSS, Sonamati SSS, Green Field Academy), Headmaster (Chisopani JHS), Chandra Maya Tamang (Land Donor), Mrs. Lhakit Lepcha (Panchayat President), Sharmila Chettri (Secretary Panchayat), Bhishal Mukhia, (Ralap Ward Panchayat), members of Suryaudaya Jan Kalyan Samiti (Ralap) and Sagar Club (Rungtung), student’s guardian and others.
KN Dhakal and Bishnu Maya Rai sang the welcome song. Dorjee Sherpa, Head Master of the school in his address welcome the guests in the programme. He placed about different fundamental necessities of the school for better corresponding.
Shri Am Prasad Sharma, the Chief Guest of the day handed over the prizes to the winner of different categories. In his speech, Sharma appreciated the efforts of the Headmaster and his staff in successfully organizing such a wonderful program to showcase the individual talents of the students. He assured full cooperation for the development of the school. Talking about Chief Minister Merit Scholarship, he anticipated that he will surely hear a student from Ralap SS being selected.
Jharana Tamang (class viii) and Jitan Chettri (class ix) was declared the Best Girl and Boy of the Year 2013. Suk Raj Subba (class vii) was announced the Most Disciplined Student of the Year. Run Maya Subba (Girls) and Jiten Chettri (Boys) won the Athletic of the Year. Manjita Subba (class viii) went on to win the Best Dancer of the Year trophy. Blue House went on to win the House of the Year while Red House was awarded second. Prizes and certificates for the first and second students was also distributed. Seventeenth Students was awarded medals and certificates for achieving 100 % attendance.