Tuesday, June 10, 2008

Summiteers felicitated

Eight summiteers, Mr. Gyamtso Tshering Bhutia, Mrs Phul Maya Tamang, Ms. Yangdi Sherpa, Mr. D.D.Bhuita , Mr. Kunzang Gyatso Bhutia, Mr. Suraj Sing, Mr. Yaduram Sharma and Mr. Nima Wangchuk Sherpa, were felicitated by Governor Mr. Sudarshan Agarwal on Monday at Governor House.After their felicitation the Governor said, the summiteers have done brave work. He asked them to be role model of mountain climbers.
Team leader Mr. Keshang Tshering said among the team Mr. D.D.Bhutia was the first summiteer to touch the peak of Mount Everest. He reached the peak at 4.40 am on 22 May. The team had set off on 21 May at 7.30 am, he informed.