Saturday, August 16, 2014

Chisopani JHS celebrates 68th Independence Day

SINGTAM, AUGUST 16: 68TH Independence Day Celebration was held in a grand manner at Chisoani JHS, East Sikkim.  Contingent March Past, Inter School Patriotic Dance Competition, Inter School JHS Level Football Tournament and other programmes was held on the occasion.  Am Prasad Sharma (former MLA and Advisor Buildings & Housing Department) was the Chief Guest of the day.  Distinguished guests included Nirmal Cintury, Zilla Panchayat, Bimal Lamichaney & Sumitra Gurung, President & Vice President Sirwani Chisopani GPU, Navin Rai, former Zilla Panchayat, Dorjee Sherpa, Headmaster Ralap SS and others.
Mahesh Dahal, Headmaster Chisopani JHS in his speech welcomed every individual and gave in brief the importance of the day. Am Prasad Sharma, Chief Guest hoisted the National tri-colour flag and took salute of the contingent march past presented by the students of Chisopani JHS. Sharma in his speech spoked about the contribution made by the great leaders in attaining the Independence and said we should always have respects and high regards for them.  CM Chettri, teacher Chisopani JHS was the host of the day.
Rising Sun Academy - Chisopani went on to win the Inter School Patriotic Dane Competition followed by Chisopani JHS and Bright Life Academy - Sakyong.  Devi Rai, former student of Chisopani JHS performed a dance number; she also went on to sing a song latter. Tshering Tamang and his group presented a play. For the crowd’s entertain there were Passing the Ball and Tug of War Competitions.
The much talked Inter School JHS Level Football Tournament was won by Central Pandam SSS. They defeated Pachak SS with three goals to two in an enthralling and nail biting match. Darpan Thami (Bright Life Academy) was selected as a Best Promising Star trophy. Pem Tshring Tamang and Aadarsh Pradhan both from Central Pandam SSS went on to win the Highest Scorer trophy and Player of the tournament trophy respectively. Lal Singh Rai (Pachak SS) was adjudged the best Goal Keeper of the tournament. There were eight teams in the tournament. The Chief Guest and other guests handed out the trophies, certificate and cash prizes to the winners.