Thursday, December 09, 2010

Sikkim comes from behind to equalise at Delhi football Tourney

Goal Scorers from Sikkim:  Leksang Jordan Bhutia and Punol Lepcha
New Delhi: Sikkim drew their last group match at the ongoing football tournament held at Dr. Ambedkar Stadium. ITO, New Delhi with the final score settling at two goals each. The Sikkim team were playing their last group match against Aachik Thunder United, from Megalaya. The young participating Sikkimese team were all students studying at different educational institutions at New Delhi. These youngsters were representing Sikkim at the prestigious 4th North East RN Tamchom Football Trophy, 2010. 16 football clubs from different regions of North East India were competing for the coveted trophy which also had state level players in respective teams. Sikkim team was the only team with youngsters and all students. 

Sikkim Team
Leksang Jordan Bhutia initiated the first score in the electronic score board with a beautiful free kick goal in an opening 3 minutes of the start of the match. The players from Aachik Thunder United, the club from Meghalaya went on to equalise and add another goal before the end of the first half. In the second half Sikkimese players dominated the play but failed to convert it until striker Punol Lepcha, the youngest member of the Sikkim team found his kick inside the goal post of the opponent.

Despite losing the earlier two matches with narrow margins and a draw in their last match, the team failed to qualify to the next round but the youngsters from Sikkim were able to win heart of the spectators. Topgay Kazi, captain of the Sikkim Team said the youngsters played with their potentials and it was altogether a team effort. We played against better teams and we are happy with our game, Kazi added. It was also known that the Sikkim team were specially invited for the tournament.

Sikkim Team
Players of Sikkim team were: Topgay Kazi (Captain), Parag Ekka (Goal Keeper), Anup Gurung, Chyongzet A. Targain, Karma Dorjee Gyalpo, Karma Pintso Lepcha, Karma Topden Bhutia, Kunga Lekdup Bhutia, Leksang Jordan Bhutia, Leksang, Phengay Bhutia, Punol Lepcha, Singi Dadul, Sylvanus Sherpa, Tanam Subba, Tenzin Khitse Bhutia, Tenzing Gyurmey, Tenzing Jigme Sherpa and Tenzing Thinlay Lepcha.
Team Manager: Ujjwal Pandey
Coach              : Rosden Tshering